Skip to content

Tim Mantoani, as fotografias e os fotógrafos

novembro 4, 2010

Q & A With Tim Mantoani
I hear photographers all the time say, “When I get (insert new camera, more money, a new portfolio, time, etc…here) I want to go shoot (insert dream project here).” Bottom line is that most of them never will go shoot what they want. I was diagnosed with a rare form of bone cancer when I was 30. It showed me that you need to live your life NOW. So go do it. Make that first call, send that first email, take that first picture for YOUR personal project NOW. Stop reading and go do it or it will never happen. YOU have to make it happen. Take the risk, you will not regret it.

KG: Describe the “flashing light bulb moment” that ignited this wonderful personal project portrait series, which not only pays tribute to some of the world’s most recognizable images, but places a name and face to these photographs.

TM: I had heard about the 20×24 Polaroid Camera and always wanted to try shooting with it. In Dec of 2006, I rented the camera for a day and asked two photographers that I knew in San Francisco to come in for portraits. I requested that they each bring one of their iconic photos to hold. Michael Zagaris held his photo of Joe Montana and Bill Walsh from the 49ers and Jim Marshall brought in Johnny Cash flipping off the camera. There was something interesting the balance of both the photographer and their photograph in these instant images. I had each of them write a bit about their image on the bottom of the Polaroid. It all started there and I knew I was onto something special based on the feedback from the photographers and people I shared the images with.

BEHIND PHOTOGRAPHS PROJECT

Veja também a parte II e a parte III.

Poderia ter escolhido outras feras lá no belo projeto de Mantoani, mas resolvi ficar com William Coupon e Lori Grinker, porque são dois velhos conhecidos de Pictura Pixel. Nada mais justo.

Aproveite a viagem e explore o blog também…

Herman Leonard – March 6, 1923 – August 14, 2010
On the bottom of his Polaroid portrait he wrote, “It was early 1948 at the Royal Roost in New York. An afternoon rehearsal gave me a unique opportunity to photograph many giants of jazz with my trusty 4×5 Speed Graphic. What a great career! To do what you love and be entertained at the same time!”

Herman Leonard Photography

No comments yet

Deixe uma resposta

